CTFC vs AFC Sudbury

Velocity Trophy
November 23, 2021
Score: 2 - 2

Match Report

Coggeshall welcomed AFC Sudbury to West Street for a Tuesday night fixture in the Velocity Trophy – the travelling side had just acquired former, long-time Seedgrower Ross Wall, however the talented forward was not present in the matchday squad.

An alternate Coggeshall side made sure to impress under the floodlights as they took on a style of precision passing and fast attacking football. Sudbury also fielded a number of debutants, who, once again were eager to impress. Jermaine Francis opened the scoring within fifteen minutes, putting the reds in front early on. Shortly after Ethan Kessel’s long range strike landed just wide of the post, with the following play seeing a fast paced Sudbury attack stopped at the last moment through an impressive goal line clearance from Joshua Pollard.

Alex Teniola later hit the crossbar with a fantastic scissor kick, as home fans couldn’t believe that the strike hadn’t gone in. The tight game came close to a level scoreline as Ethan Kessel slipped with the ball at his feet in the box, however the midfielder recovered himself and the ball in order the keep the Seedgrowers ahead. On the counter-attack, Francis broke through on goal but his attempt was stopped as he entered the opposition eighteen yard box.

Tariq Issa soom after broke through himself, but hit the ball straight down the centre of the goal, as Sudbury’s shotstopper made easy work of the admittedly powerful strike. Colby Hillyard then levelled the score for the away side as the reds held off the advancing front three, leaving a sour taste in the mouth of Coggeshall fans before the half time whistle.

Half time: Coggeshall Town 1 – 1 AFC Sudbury

A triple half time substitution from the home side saw Oliver Bell, Ayrton Coley and Lewis Down replace Joshua Pollard, George Cocklin and Matthew Cafer. Sudbury went ahead fifteen minutes into the half through Christian Frimpong, who met the ball following on from a free kick that had dragged across the red’s box. Sudbury then utilised two of their changes with goalscorer Colby Hillyard and Ellis Girling making way for Oliver Lonton and Joshua Stokes.

Coggeshall were soon after awarded a penalty after Jermaine Francis was taken out in the opposition box, however the spot kick from Teniola was sent over the bar in an unfortunate attempt. Sudbury made their final change through former red Jamie Shaw, who replaced Connor Smith. Alex Teniola then grabbed his first goal for the Seedgrowers, equalising the tie. Frimpong was then substituted for Cruis Nyadzayo in the ninetieth minute – Coggeshall then are blocked twice in succession as fans were left in disbelief that they had not bagged the winner.

Full time: Coggeshall Town 2 – 2 AFC Sudbury

The game was then immediately sent to penalties, with Sudbury sending home three of their five spot kicks, and Coggeshall only scoring one. AFC Sudbury progressed to the next round of the Velocity Trophy via a penalty win.